Cricket History of World Cup 1975

Cricket World Cup 1975
Cricket World Cup 1975


Cricket World Cup is a tournament played between the international cricket teams and is organized by the ICC. ICC (International Cricket Council) is the sole governing body of cricket. First Men’s Cricket World Cup Tournament was played in 1975, and England hosted it. First One Day International (ODI) Cricket match was played four years before this cricket world cup of 1975, and Women’s first world cup was also taking place two years prior to this. The 1st recorded international cricket match was played among Canada and the United States of America in 1844  on the 24th and 25th of September. The first Official Test Cricket match was played between Australia and England in 1877.


The first cricket world cup was scheduled in 1975 in England. The tournament was started on 7 June, and the final was played on 21 June 1975. This Cricket world cup was sponsored by Prudential Assurance Company. Due to this, It is also called Prudential Cup ’75. The final of this tournament was played at Lord’s Cricket Stadium, London.


This ICC tournament is open for all the members. Top-ranked teams directly qualify for it. The other teams have to play qualifying tournaments. Qualifying tournaments are held in different regions of the world, and top sides of these regions come to the main round.


There were a total of eight teams that participated in this tournament. Six teams had the Test status at that time, and the other two were the leading Associate teams at that time.


  • Australia
  • England
  • India
  • Pakistan
  • New Zealand
  • West Indies


  • East Africa
  • Sri Lanka

There were a total of eight teams. These teams were two groups of teams in the cricket world cup 1975. Each group had four teams. Every team had to play with all other sides of the group, and the top two teams of each group qualified for the semi-finals. Group matches were played from 7th to 14 June 1975. The semi-finals were held on 18 June.


AUSTRALIA: Ian Chappell (captain), Greg Chappell (VC), Ross Edwards, Gary Gilmour, Dennis Lillee, Rick McCosker, Ashelly Mallet, Rod Marsh (WK), Jeff Thomsan, Alan Turner, Max Walker, Doug Walters, Alan Hurst, Bruce Laird

ENGLAND: Mike Denness (Captain), Dennis Amiss, Geoff Arnold, Keith Fletcher, Tony Greig, Frank Hayes, John Jameson (WK), Alan Knott (WK)

INDIA: Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan(Captain), Syed Abid Ali, Mohinder Amarnath, Bishen Singh Bedi, Farokh Engineer (WK), Anshuman Gaekwad, Sunil Gavaskar, Karsan Ghavri, Madan Lal, Brijesh Patel, Eknath Solkar, Gundappa Viswanath, Syed Kirmani (WK), Parthasarathy Sharma

PAKISTAN: Asif Iqbal (Captain), Zaheer Abbas, Wasim Bari (WK), Imran Khan, Majid Khan (VC), Naseer Malik, Asif Masood, Javed Miandad, Pervez Mir, Mushtaq Mohammad, Sadiq Mohammad, Sarfraz Nawaz, Wasim Raja, Shafiq Ahmed

NEW ZEALAND: Glenn Turner (Captain), Lance Cairns, Richard Collinge, Barry Hadlee, Dayle Hadlee, Richard Hadlee, Brian Hastings, Geoff Howarth, Hedley Howarth, Brian McKechnie, John Morrison, John Parker (WK), Ken Wadsworth (WK)

WEST INDIES:  Clive Lloyd (Captain), Keith Boyce, Roy Fredericks, Lance Gibbs, Gordon Greenidge, Vanburn Holder, Bernard Julien, Alvin Kallicharran, Rohan Kanhai, Deryck Murray (WK), Viv Richards, Andy Roberts, Maurice Foster, Lawrence Rowe

SRILANKA: Annura Tennekoon (Captain), Ajit de Silva, Somachandra de Silva, Ranjit Fernando (WK), David Heyn, Lalith Kaluperuma, Duleep Mendis, Tony Opatha, Mevan Pieris,Anura Ranasinghe, Micheal Tissera, Bandula Warnapura, Sunil Warnapura, Sunil Wettimuny, Dennis Chanmugam

EAST AFRICA: Harilal Shah (Captain), Farasat Ali, Zulfiqar Ali, Yunus Badat, Hamish McLeod (WK), Praful Mehta (WK), John Nagenda, Don Pringle, Mehmood Quaraishy, Ramesh Sethi, Jawahir Shah, Shiraz Sumar, Samuel Walusimbi


The international cricket council (ICC) started to finalize the venues from 26 July 1973. Lord’s Cricket Ground at London England was selected as the venue for Final. 1975 Cricket World Cup was played on these six grounds.

  • Lord’s London
  • The Oval London
  • Old Trafford Cricket Ground Manchester
  • Edgbaston Cricket Ground Birmingham
  • Trent Bridge Nottingham
  • Headingley Leeds


1st match was played between England and India on 7 June 1975.
England scored 334/4 in 60 overs and India Scored 132/3 in 60 overs. England won this match by 202 runs.
2nd match was played on 7 June 1975 between New Zealand and East Africa.
New Zealand scored 309/5 (60 overs), and East Africa scored 128/8 (60 overs). New Zealand won by 181 runs.
3rd match was played on 11 June 1975 between England and New Zealand.
England Scored 266/6 in 60 overs and New Zealand 186/10 in 60 overs. England won by 80 runs.
4th match was played on 11 June 1975 between East Africa and India.
East Africa scored 120 runs in 60 overs, and India scored 124/0 in 29.5 overs. India won this match by 10 wickets.
5th Match of Group A was played between England and East Africa on 14 June 1975.
England scored 290/5 in 60 overs and East Africa 94/10 in 60 overs. England won this match by 196 runs.
6th Match of Group A was played between India and New Zealand on 14 June 1975.
India scored 230 runs in 60 overs, and New Zealand scored 233/6 in 60 overs. New Zealand won this match by 4 wickets.


1st Match of Group B was played between Australia and Pakistan on 7 June 1975.
Australia Scored 278/7 in 60 overs, and Pakistan was all out on 205 runs in 53 overs. Australia won this match by 73 runs.
2nd Match of Group B was played between Sri Lanka and West Indies on 7 June 1975.
Sri Lanka was all out on 86 runs in 37.2 overs, and West Indies chased this Scored 87/1 in 20.4 overs and won this match by 9 wickets.
3rd Match of Group B was played between Australia and Sri Lanka on 11 June 1975.
Australia Scored 328/5 in 60 overs, and Sri Lanka scored 276/4 in 60 overs. Australia won this match by 52 runs.
4th Match of Group B was played between Pakistan and West Indies on 11 June 1975.
Pakistan scored 266/7 in 60 overs, and West Indies Scored 267/9 in 59.4 overs. West Indies won by 1 wicket.
5th Match of Group B was played between Australia and West Indies on 14 June 1975.
Australia were all out on 192 in 53.4 overs, and West Indies scored 185/3 in 46 overs and won this match by 7 wickets.
6th Match of Group B was played between Pakistan and Sri Lanka on 14 June 1975.
Pakistan scored 330/6 in 60 overs, and Sri Lanka Scored 138/10 in 50.1 overs.


1st Semi-Final was played between England and Australia on 18 June 1975 at Headingley, Leeds.
England was all out on 93 runs in just 36.2 overs, and Australia chased this quickly and scored 94/6 in 28.4 overs and won the first semi-final by 4 wickets.
2nd Semi-Final was played between New Zealand and West Indies on the same day at The Oval, London.
New Zealand were all out on 158 runs in 52.2 overs, and West Indies Scored 159/5 in 40.1 overs. West Indies won this match by 5 Wickets.


The Final Match of First Cricket World Cup 1975 was played between West Indies and Australia on 21 June 1975.
Black Storm (WI) Scored 291/8 runs in 60 overs, and Aussies scored 274/10 in 58.4 overs.
West Indies won this match by 17 runs. They became the first-ever champion of the First Cricket World Cup 1975. West Indies was called Black Storm at that time.


Glenn Turner of New Zealand was the Leading run-scorer with 333 runs in Cricket World Cup 1975.

And Gary Gilmour was the leading wicket-taker with 11 wickets in Cricket World Cup 1975.

If you want to read that what difficulties PCB is currently facing, click here.